Insights From The Engine Room

Icon

Lessons Learned from Rock and Roll

Plastic Fantastic

I pulled up and into a meter bay right outside the front door of Granada, banged in a couple of coins and marched my band The Plastics, or two Plasticos to be exact up to reception.’Tony Michaelides and The Plastics here to see Tony Wilson..Thanks.’ The lady buzzed through to the studio and within a minute Carol, one of the ‘What’s on’ crew came through to meet us and take us down to studio. The show was just about to begin and we had about 20 minutes so I nipped them in to make up just for a quick polish and then we’d be right as rain, at least that’s what I thought. They both were fine looking specimens so I didn’t reckon they needed much of a ‘face repair.’….. I was lucky I wasn’t there with Steve Tyler or any number of road warriors,might have taken a tad longer! Everything was fairly rushed, obviously but all the time they were smiling and happy to be lead along by anxious little plugger man, notably me!

Tony was introducing a couple of items to camera and while we stood waiting in the wings we were informed that in two minutes they’d cut to a filmed item and that was our cue….we’d then be taken us on to the set for the interview and miked up. They looked very excited and were whispering to each other and giggling in what appeared mild Japanese flirtatious behavior.’Let’s go’ came the cry and on we danced.

The studio floor assistant clipped a couple of microphones on their lapels, Tony smiled at them, someone shouted ’30 seconds left’ then ’15’ and ‘go!’ I eased a sigh of relief, I knew ‘What’s on’ had the video because even in the mayhem I’d phoned ahead to check and as we were there on time no one need know how close we’d come to disaster. Tony voiced a link in to their current video, mentioned where the band would be playing and actually held up the sleeve of the single. Brilliant, much more of a plug for a relatively unknown act than I ever could have expected so I was more than happy. ‘ 30 seconds’ again came the cry, this time until the end of the video.’ ………’And action !’

Tony back announced the video made a mildly humorous comment, mentioned the forthcoming gig once more and The Plastics were on, LIVE ! ‘In the studio tonight I’m delighted to have singer Chica and guitarist Hajime from Japan’s latest sensation, The Plastics making their debut on UK television…..Welcome guys and thanks for popping in’. ‘Hello, Hi’ they uttered back through smiling, excitable grins and shiny white teeth’

‘ So what do you think of Manchester, have you had any time to look round yet?’ Tony spouted. There was a gap, probably 10 seconds , felt like an hour for me…they glanced at each other, Chica smiled and Hajime said ‘I like Beatle’ Pause, another gap, though not quite as long and Tony asked them a question about the album…..not a clue what, I just remember it was another question, another gap and again an even better smile from Chica. Hajime once again uttered ‘I like Beatle’ What the fuck, you like Beatle I was thinking…..who cares, what has that got to do with anything????

There was another gap, you couldn’t blame him but Tony expected something to follow on from ‘I like Beatle’ Nothing, not a soddin’ thing. He glanced over at me looking confused in the wings and like the complete pro he was said ‘Great video, let’s see a little more.’ ….and out from the director’s box they cut to the video……again???

We were the final item on the show so they played out with the video, Tony unclipped his microphone and headed straight towards me. ‘ Absolute classic!……..only you could bring a band in who couldn’t speak a word of fuckin’ English’

Filed under: View from the room, , , ,

5 Responses

  1. richard pearson says:

    What a Long Strange Trip it’s Been

    4

    In the Court of the Crimson King

    1979 was probably my favourite year. I had spent the previous year serving ‘my apprenticeship’ as Gorky would have put it and I was beginning to get a reputation as someone with a different approach to the normal Radio 1 hack. I was also getting to pick and choose whoever I wanted to interview. Wasn’t life grand?

    I had started to earn good money, mainly as a result of the fact that I had negotiated a better deal for my interview fees than the NUJ had managed to negotiate for its members. As you can imagine when I was visited by an NUJ rep, anxious to sign me up, I was pretty scathing about their negotiating powers. So there I was earning a lot of money, for someone in his early twenties and spending even more!

    Breaking for lunch one day, I headed off down Regent Street for a mooch around the shops. There was a lovely cashmere camel coat in Take 6. I thought ‘My new girlfriend Juliana will love me in that’. The price; £125.00! So what? It was only money, even if it was about twice the average weekly wage at the time. I bought a pair of tan, punched buckskin shoes to go with it. At £40.00 they were a snip. I made a mental note to visit Mulberry as soon as possible, in order to get a nice tan belt to complement the shoes. That would probably set me back a further £25.00 or so but hey it’s only money! As you will probably have gathered the punk chic look of the previous year, had gone completely out of the window. I had a beautiful Italian girlfriend and I needed the clothes to match.

    When I got back to the office Chalky White, known to his wife as Bob, had left me a copy of the new Robert Fripp album ‘Exposure’. Robert was signed to EG, the same label as Roxy Music but as their stuff was distributed by Polydor, it was Chalky’s job to drop it off.

    I put it on my archaic BBC issue gramophone and had my ears blown off; it was fantastic. I particularly liked ‘You Burn Me Up I’m a Cigarette’ with vocals by the darling of blue-eyed soul, Darryl Hall. I phoned Chalky straight away and told him I would give it a play and that I wanted to interview Robert. Bob told me that Robert had scheduled a press conference for a couple of days hence, which I was welcome to attend. At Radio 1, we were used to getting one to ones but Robert was well-known for being a tad eccentric so I played along.

    I turned up to Polydor’s West End offices at the appointed time, a couple of days later. I walked in to find the usual buffet and wine with an exotic selection from the London end of the world’s music media. Robert was holding court and pontificating about ‘The Drive to 1984’, which was his take on music entering the Orwellian age. He looked under a lot of strain as he was being questioned by a large number of journalists, most of whom were asking pretty dumb questions. At an appropriate time, Bob attracted the Crimson King’s attention and told him that I was the person he’d mentioned. I looked mystified and Robert looked intrigued. Bob then explained that he had told Robert that I had got back to him within an hour of him dropping off the record singing its praises. His Majesty asked if I would like a few minutes to ask a few specific questions and I responded in the affirmative. Within minutes of us starting to discus subjects like musical minimalism, Frippertronics and deconstruction Robert leapt up and in a fit of pique and demanded that the gaggle of Japanese photographers be dismissed, as we were talking serious stuff. At the end of about 45 minutes chat, Robert told me that I had just conducted the only Radio interview he had ever done, where he felt that the reporter was on the same wavelength as him. I felt flattered but I was definitely not ready for the next bit.

    Robert Fripp then asked me if I would be interested in joining King Crimson! He was reforming the band and wanted me to consider being a member. I told him that the only musical instrument I could play was the guitar and I wasn’t very good at that. Robert passed me a guitar and asked me to demonstrate my musical prowess. His verdict was that not only was I not very good, I was awful. But, he said, that wasn’t a problem as he could teach me guitar. What was important was I had the right attitude and in the new King Crimson, attitude was everything.

    I was flattered but even though King Crimson’s ‘Red’ is one of my favourite records of all time, the fact was that King Crimson were yesterday’s men and I was today’s intrepid and aspiring roving reporter. Had I known what was to come with albums like ‘Beat’ and ‘Three of a Perfect Pair’ I may have reconsidered, but saying yes didn’t seem to be an option. I told Robert that I was happy doing what I was doing, but thanks for the offer. He said that he hoped we might eventually get the chance to work together. I have never seen Robert from that day to this but that interview had a very positive consequence, which I’ll tell you about elsewhere.

  2. richard pearson says:

    sorry that would be discuss not discus which is something i believe athletes throw in the olympics!

  3. Janice Rider says:

    As usual Richard – an intriguing past !

  4. richard pearson says:

    What a Long Strange Trip it’s Been

    4

    We Will Rock You

    When Dexy’s Midnight Runners brought out ‘Come on Eileen’ in 1981, I was doing the music for a BBC 2 show called ‘6.55 special’. The presenter was ex TV cop David Soul. The opening music for the show was provided by The Hank Wangford Band and Tony MacCauley, who had written hits for David was another musical guest. At various points during the rehearsal (the show was live) each musical guest came up to me and asked me if I was taking the piss out of them as they found the contrast between the musical styles suggested this. I assured them that I wasn’t and that I was just trying to do things differently.

    I was particularly concerned about Kevin Rowlands from Dexy’s as he had a reputation for being difficult. I talked to him a little and told him that I wasn’t just filling TV airtime as I was a genuine fan of his. I still think ‘Searching for the Young Soul Rebels’ is one of the best albums from the second-half of the seventies and had played a track from it on Radio 1, when it was still a single on a small indy label. Anyway All the acts performed well and the show was very well received. Kevin had no further issues and Phonogram plugger Rebecca Sumner told me he was pleased with the show. I later became friends with Kevin for a bit and visited his flat near to Edgbaston reservoir, on a couple of occasions. Hank is on my facebook friends list so that tells all but I still think he has slight reservations about me LOL!!!!!

    Dexy’s had a couple of days off touring and some members of the band asked me if anything was happening in Birmingham the following night. I told them there were a couple of decent gigs and 2 or 3 nightclubs including the famous Rum Runner and the Holy City Zoo. I told them I was going to see Saxon at The Odeon, as I was fascinated by the whole heavy metal scene and I fancied partaking in a bit of voyeurism. I said they were quite welcome to come along if they wanted, not thinking they would be remotely interested. A couple of them said it sounded like fun and were up for it. One of them was keyboard player Mickey Billingham. Mickey and Kevin had had a bit of a contretemps before the recording. Mickey had left his baggy dungees, Dexy’s uniform for the ‘Too Rye Ay’ period at the hotel and had turned up in a pair of burgundy cords. Kevin ordered Mickey to get a cab and go back to the hotel for them. None of the band members argued with Kevin!

    When I called for Mickey and the other Dexy (can’t remember which) the next night, Mickey was still whingeing about what a bastard Kevin was, making him wear those stupid dungarees when he knew that he hated them. So Mickey had forgotten them accidentally on purpose!!!!

    We went into the gig and had a fun time watching some bona-fide heavy metal gods in action. During the evening I bumped into the tour manager and I think promoter, Barry Mead and thanked him for the tickets. I asked him what it was like looking after his ‘Wild Men of Rock’. He said “You wanna see it”. He asked me what I was doing after the show and did I fancy a drink. I told him I was going over the road to The Crest hotel, to have a drink with Dexy’s. He told me that the Saxon entourage were staying there too so he would see me in the bar. He advised me to get there as soon as I could after the show ended, but didn’t say why. I complied, gathered up my Dexy’s and took them back to the hotel bar immediately the last reverb of the encore died.

    Five minutes after we had sat down, in marched Saxon lead by lead singer Bif. They headed purposefully for the bar where I knew they were going to order bottles of Jack Daniels, Southern Comfort and other Rock and Roll tinctures. Bif collared the barmaid and said in a strong Barnsley accent
    “Any chance of a big pot of tea for five people love. We’re just going to phone our wives and we’ll be back in five minutes.”

    They then went into the phone booths in the corridor which were open, so we could hear exactly what they were saying.

    “Yes love” “I’m alright love” “We’ve just finished and we’re going to have a cup of te and go to bed” “Yes love I love you too love” “Yes darling I’ll phone you as soon as I get up” “yes love you sleep well too”

    Wild Men of Rock indeed!!!

  5. […] richard pearson – November 28, 2008 at 7:43 pm […]

Leave a comment